Food for the Soul (and the Stomach)

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Food for the Soul (and the Stomach).”

Right now I am craving for something which is boiling hot with steam coming out and a little spicy as much as my taste buds can handle. Well, yes I have got a cold and its driving me crazy with a blocked nose and not being able to breathe properly. I think its annoying to breathe the whole day and sleep all night with your mouth open. Err..I did that last night. I slept the whole night with my mouth wide open.

I remember when my mom used to make me feel better by preparing spicy curries. Moms know the secret and the cold used to disappear all of a sudden the next morning. But now I am helplessly hoping the cold to get better by doing stuff within my limit.

If I forget about the cold for sometime then I really like to bake a cake. It does take a little time and a little more effort but when you see the it rising inside the microwave you feel good. And then when the rich aroma is spread across the house it makes you feel even better. Then comes the time when you cut the cake and serve it to your loved ones and its gets over in no time. This feeling is not so good to be very honest as I love to eat a slice of cake the next morning with my morning tea. But then that’s fine, it doesn’t matter. I feel good that it got over or else I would have had to spend an extra 15 mins at the gym.

Such are the joys of life, sometimes good and sometimes even better.

Right now I wish I could get better by tomorrow.

Zebra Cake

Zebra Cake

Leave a Reply

